Are You A Merciful Person? Part 7


Jonahs-Anger

 

*How did Jonah react to this turn of events?   “It displeased Jonah exceedingly, and he was very angry.   And he prayed unto the Lord…   Therefore now, O Lord, please take my life from me, for it is better for me to die than to live!”  (Jonah 4:1-3).   Jonah was now in despair.   What happened?   How could he react with anger over such an incredible manifestation of God’s mercy?

 

You would think after all he had been through, Jonah might have prayed for Nineveh: “Lord, you showed me your tender mercies.   You loved me when I was rebellious.   Can’t you do the same for this wicked city?   Can’t you spare the many children here?   Won’t you show them all the same mercy you had on me?”

 

But that’s not what happened.   Jonah had gone through all his trials without his heart being softened at all.   And it happened because Jonah abused God’s tender mercies toward himself.   He took God’s mercy for granted.   He didn’t allow it to register in his heart and thus to soften him toward others.

 

In writing this book, Jonah didn’t hide the hideousness of his spiteful actions.   His story is a confession, as if to say:  “Can you believe I could still be so hard, so unfeeling and unforgiving, after all the unmerited loving kindness God showed me?   Take warning:  do not forget God’s mercies to you.   I got angry at God because those who stood against me weren’t being judged.   I thought, “They’re getting away with it.”

 

Has this attitude ever been in your heart?   Has someone mistreated you, and you raged inside because you didn’t see that person paying the price?   Now ask yourself: how many tender mercies have been extended to you?   How many sins in your life has the Lord covered with His mercy and forgiveness?   I tremble to think I could receive such incredible, tender mercies and not be merciful in turn.

 

Jonah didn’t end his book with a victorious testimony.   He closed by showing himself under loving rebuke from the Lord, for his lack of tenderness toward others.   Jonah was saying to the world, “I didn’t learn my lesson.   But I am still a work in progress.”

 

We all are works in progress.   And I’m convinced God wants to speak this lesson from Jonah to His people in these last days.   Right now, every evil, fearful thing taking place on earth is designed by satan to harden people’s hearts.   And God’s great concern for His people through it all is this “heart issue” that Jonah addresses.   While Islam and other religions grow increasingly hardened of heart, God is at work by His Spirit mellowing and strengthening the true body of Christ through pain.

 

That is a testimony to a cold, grieving world.   We are able to say: “I have proven the Christ I serve to be merciful and kind.   He has loved me through everything.”

 

His love and mercy can be yours as well, no matter how deep your sin, no matter how hopeless things seem.   He has tender mercies for you, to bring you through.*

 

We wrap up this series with these thoughts:   I have personally benefited from this message myself.   Looks like it read my mail, and I have some changes to do, in my own life.   I pray this has been a blessing to you.   Continue to Read, Share, FOLLOW, and Tell a friend, about this blog.   Help us in our efforts to get the truth out to the world.   Be Blessed.   CHRIS

 

*This session is an excerpt from a message delivered at the Times Square Church in New York City.   July 2. 2007, by the late David Wilkerson.   World Challenge Pulpit Series.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star